Reviews

9.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.8
Comfort
9.4
Property location
8.6
Facilities
9.3
Staff
9.9
Value
9.2

Reviews

    Brushy111
    ec

    Review score

    9.2
    20 March 2018

    Clean, quiet, and good value mid-range hotel

    The location is fine for people with a car, but it isn't quite close enough to walk to the main Baños center. It is quieter than staying in Baños proper though. Also, the wifi did not work well.
    We were most impressed with the cleanliness of the room. The sheets and towels were perfectly clean, and the bathroom and room floors were spotless. The bed was comfortable, and the room was spacious. Also, the manager Edgar and the rest of the staff were super helpful. We felt safe at night (gated parking, lobby was staffed 24/7, and the police academy is right across the street), and the breakfast was nice but basic.
    Darlene
    ca

    Review score

    10
    11 March 2018

    nice getaway with nice people

    Nothing - all was good !
    This is a very clean Villa with attentive people wanting to attend to all your needs to make your stay a pleasant one. Edgar is amazing and there for his guests. He introduced us to a Turkish bath, we enjoyed the stamroom and hot jaccuzi. The villa is a short drive to the center and this is exactly what we wanted to be away from the late night noise.
    John
    us

    Review score

    3.3
    24 February 2018

    Disgusting.

    Dirty. Smelt like cat pee. Room had cat hair around edges of the room. Bathtub was put in backwards so you couldn’t lay back in it. The spa area was a tiny cement blah space. That looks completely ghetto. Never again. Completely disappointed in booking.coms high ratings of this dump.
    Staff was nice. Breakfast was good
    Alicia
    ca

    Review score

    10
    15 February 2018

    Great place to stay!!!

    Edgar is a fabulous host. He provided info about places to visit, organized transportation and was always available to help. The villa is located a half hour walk from downtown, or 5 minutes by taxi. Rooms were clean and comfortable, we also used the steam room and the jacuzzi. Breakfast was delicious 😃 We had a great experience!!
    michelle lemus godoy
    cl

    Review score

    10
    8 February 2018
    La excelente atencion
    Ron
    ca

    Review score

    8.8
    5 February 2018
    Barking dogs in the neighbourhood .
    Breakfast was fantastic . Edgar was very friendly and helpful.
    Lizebeth
    ca

    Review score

    9.6
    28 January 2018

    Amazing service!! Have already recommended to others!

    Great hotel, the manager Edgar is the best in the business. We arrived late and he helped order food. He also helped arrange our guide the next day, who was also amazing! The service was bar none.
    Dominique
    nl

    Review score

    10
    5 January 2018

    Hidden gem with the ultimate owner

    Bathroom was a bit small and the wastebin could be bigger, but that is soon forgotten when you realize you just had an unforgettable experience.
    Edgar is the owner you dream off (extremely kind, always ready to help, very informative). He keeps the right balance between being there for you and giving you privacy. Finding activities or a good restaurant, he knows it all. His service is far beyond excellent and his staff is also very accommodating. The spacious building lies just outside the centre of Baños with the possibility to safely park your car on the properties' grounds. The room was very big with a good (large) bed, several seatings and awesome views. The shower worked well and the breakfast was excellent (variety, Ecuadorian specialties). We could use the jacuzzi for free, and even received complimentary towels/water. We will never forget our wonderful stay here.
    ec

    Review score

    10
    2 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Arjan Schep
    ch

    Review score

    10
    31 December 2017

    Best service

    Super customer focussed
    Eva
    cn

    Review score

    9.6
    23 December 2017

    Wonderful host makes you feel like home

    Nothing I can think of
    Awesome host, Edgar is our life-saver, he arranges everything for us. Hotel is in good location, and room is big, jacuzzi is spectacular. Will come back again.
    Benjamin
    ec

    Review score

    10
    27 November 2017

    Very nice, relaxed. We booked late (8pm for 11pm the same night), and Edgar was up waiting for us!

    Nothing.
    Edgar the GM provided the best costumer care I have ever received anywhere!
    Sara
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    23 November 2017

    Service from Edgar and his team make this place great! Absolute best staff in Ecuador.

    I did find the private rooms to be a bit expensive. I also think the hotel could improve by adding more comfortable common areas (i.e. hammocks outside on the patio area) for guests to lounge and socialize.
    The service here was absolutely exceptional. Edgar was very responsive to questions via email before we arrived, was very knowledgeable about everything in Banos, booked everything for us, and was so kind and positive. Everyone who worked in the kitchen was also kind and so sweet, an the tamales were excellent. This was by far the best staff we met on our trip to Ecuador. Thank you so much!
    Lars-Erik Lindqvist
    se

    Review score

    9.2
    20 November 2017

    Comfortable hotel

    Location. Taxi cost 2 USD but possible to walk to the center within 30 minutes
    Spacey room in quite location. The manager was extreemly minded on our wellbeeing and was very helpful. The breakfast was something outstanding inluding everythingyou needed.
    TRAVELLER 4567
    be

    Review score

    10
    16 November 2017

    Relaxing stay after Quilotoa Loop.

    Short taxi ride from the center but it didnt bother us because it was quite area and only 1,5dollar taxi or 30cent bus ride away.
    Edgar is everything the other reviews say and more! Very helpful, careful and he runs his hotel with the highest care and an eye for details. The breakfast and the spa are amazing. Book this wile you still can.
    Hong Tsun
    mo

    Review score

    10
    3 November 2017
    Nothing
    Very good hotel! I really recommend you to stay!z Not noise! Good breakfast! Good service! Hotel manager is very helpful! He recommend us good place to visit!
    Marlena
    gb

    Review score

    10
    7 October 2017

    Lovely place

    Katie
    au

    Review score

    10
    4 October 2017

    Felt like home

    Incredible service from the owner and staff Large, clean rooms Quiet Excellent breakfast
    PAUL
    be

    Review score

    8.8
    26 September 2017
    Not in the center of the Banos city, you need to take a taxi for restaurant(1.5 USD)or to visit city.
    Very friendly host Edgard..We could allready check in early in the morning..Room for parking before hotel.Breakfast sufficient...Large beds.Wifi good.
    Bernhard
    at

    Review score

    9.6
    15 August 2017

    Feeling like at home

    La Villa del Peñon Hotel is a great place to stay. I did enjoy breakfast a lot and am still greatful for the help the owners gave me when organising tours in Banos as well as my trip to Cuenca. If I come back to Banos, I will definitely stay at La Villa del Peñon Hotel again!
Loading reviews