This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

9.4 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.8
Comfort
9.5
Property location
8.7
Facilities
9.4
Staff
9.9
Value
9.3
Reviews
    Dominique
    nl
    10
    5 January 2018
    Hidden gem with the ultimate owner
    Bathroom was a bit small and the wastebin could be bigger, but that is soon forgotten when you realize you just had an unforgettable experience.
    Edgar is the owner you dream off (extremely kind, always ready to help, very informative). He keeps the right balance between being there for you and giving you privacy. Finding activities or a good restaurant, he knows it all. His service is far beyond excellent and his staff is also very accommodating. The spacious building lies just outside the centre of Baños with the possibility to safely park your car on the properties' grounds. The room was very big with a good (large) bed, several seatings and awesome views. The shower worked well and the breakfast was excellent (variety, Ecuadorian specialties). We could use the jacuzzi for free, and even received complimentary towels/water. We will never forget our wonderful stay here.
    ec
    10
    2 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Arjan Schep
    ch
    10
    31 December 2017
    Best service
    Super customer focussed
    Eva
    cn
    9.6
    23 December 2017
    Wonderful host makes you feel like home
    Nothing I can think of
    Awesome host, Edgar is our life-saver, he arranges everything for us. Hotel is in good location, and room is big, jacuzzi is spectacular. Will come back again.
    Benjamin
    ec
    10
    27 November 2017
    Very nice, relaxed. We booked late (8pm for 11pm the same night), and Edgar was up waiting for us!
    Nothing.
    Edgar the GM provided the best costumer care I have ever received anywhere!
    Sara
    us
    8.8
    23 November 2017
    Service from Edgar and his team make this place great! Absolute best staff in Ecuador.
    I did find the private rooms to be a bit expensive. I also think the hotel could improve by adding more comfortable common areas (i.e. hammocks outside on the patio area) for guests to lounge and socialize.
    The service here was absolutely exceptional. Edgar was very responsive to questions via email before we arrived, was very knowledgeable about everything in Banos, booked everything for us, and was so kind and positive. Everyone who worked in the kitchen was also kind and so sweet, an the tamales were excellent. This was by far the best staff we met on our trip to Ecuador. Thank you so much!
    Lars-Erik Lindqvist
    se
    9.2
    20 November 2017
    Comfortable hotel
    Location. Taxi cost 2 USD but possible to walk to the center within 30 minutes
    Spacey room in quite location. The manager was extreemly minded on our wellbeeing and was very helpful. The breakfast was something outstanding inluding everythingyou needed.
    TRAVELLER 4567
    be
    10
    16 November 2017
    Relaxing stay after Quilotoa Loop.
    Short taxi ride from the center but it didnt bother us because it was quite area and only 1,5dollar taxi or 30cent bus ride away.
    Edgar is everything the other reviews say and more! Very helpful, careful and he runs his hotel with the highest care and an eye for details. The breakfast and the spa are amazing. Book this wile you still can.
    Hong Tsun
    mo
    10
    3 November 2017
    Nothing
    Very good hotel! I really recommend you to stay!z Not noise! Good breakfast! Good service! Hotel manager is very helpful! He recommend us good place to visit!
    Marlena
    gb
    10
    7 October 2017
    Lovely place
    Katie
    au
    10
    4 October 2017
    Felt like home
    Incredible service from the owner and staff Large, clean rooms Quiet Excellent breakfast
    PAUL
    be
    8.8
    26 September 2017
    Not in the center of the Banos city, you need to take a taxi for restaurant(1.5 USD)or to visit city.
    Very friendly host Edgard..We could allready check in early in the morning..Room for parking before hotel.Breakfast sufficient...Large beds.Wifi good.
    Bernhard
    at
    9.6
    15 August 2017
    Feeling like at home
    La Villa del Peñon Hotel is a great place to stay. I did enjoy breakfast a lot and am still greatful for the help the owners gave me when organising tours in Banos as well as my trip to Cuenca. If I come back to Banos, I will definitely stay at La Villa del Peñon Hotel again!
    Leontine
    nl
    10
    12 August 2017
    Excellent service and attention we were warmly welcomed.
    Nothing what we can imagine
    The manager Edgar is really excellent he really made our stay wonderful. He is very helpful and knows what SERVICE is. THe room is well cleaned and breakfast is very good with personal service. This hotel is an example for the many hotels, also well known luxury chains, where we have stayed.
    guy
    be
    9.2
    8 August 2017
    Outstanding service just outside the center.
    Maybe one thing is that the police academy is close to the hotel, and those guys make a little noise.... Neverthelees the beds were that good that we have slept very well.
    The breakfast was excellent! Edgar was a vey helpful and dedicated owner of the hotel. He gave us good information on the things to visit, the restaurants. He even drove with us back to a restaurant to pick up something we forgot. We felt at home! Just out of the city - away from the noise (taxi arrives within couple of minutes and costs 2$ - can fit up to 5 people)
    marius
    ro
    10
    7 August 2017
    thank you Edgar!
    everything
    Rhonda
    au
    7.5
    6 August 2017
    The owner get of of his way to help and speakers english. .And super clean
    Keith
    gb
    8.8
    24 July 2017
    Not really a spa hotel, extra cost to use these facilities.
    Spacious rooms with comfortable beds and a hot shower. Staff were the nicest and most helpful we have come across in all of South America.
    Vivian
    us
    9.6
    15 July 2017
    Perfect stay, will be staying here if/when I make it to Banos and will recommend to others!
    N/A
    I absolutely loved staying here... this is a charming bed and breakfast type of feel with the most wonderful host I think I've ever met. I arrived on an overnight bus from Montanita around 8AM and Edgar greeted me at the door and allowed me to check in early. After napping for a short bit, he had breakfast for me in the kitchen which was delicious. Afterwards, he helped me plot out my few days in Banos to make the most of my time, including a day trip of sites around the city such as the Swing at the End of the World, the treehouse, time at the Market, and thermal hot springs + massage.. then the Amazon Jungle trek which was an awesome full day tour... and lastly a chance to check out the famous cascadas or waterfalls.. which is what Banos is known for having so many of. I can't say enough good things about Edgar... he truly is dedicated to making people have a wonderful stay and the accommodations were clean, warm, inviting. Although it is about 10-15 minutes driving/30 minutes walking from the center... it isn't a bad thing since it is quieter. His little dog is the cutest thing too! Also, the taxi service he recommended was fantastic... Erick and his father Hugo were awesome, despite my occasional tardiness :0) I would HIGHLY recommend a stay here and wish the best for Edgar!!!
    Ann
    nz
    9.2
    15 July 2017
    Comfortable and friendly stay in Banos.
    Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds and a fantastic breakfast. The owner called us a cab anytime we needed one - just a quick cheap ride to town. The property is a little dated but very comfortable. A lovely stay in Banos.
Loading reviews
Close